Renting speaking little to no Spanish in DR

Hello everyone.
I have been visiting DR for the last 4 to 5 years and felt like this would be a nice place to retire or have a summer hangout. So, I decided to look into renting in the DR. I contacted a realtor for a apartment that had the right price for a 3 bedroom apartment. He spoke a little English which helped me. We went through all the paperwork and everything was good except I did not have a grantor. It was difficult because everyone I met here either had no job or could not be my grantor. Once I knew what the grantor was responsible for, I understood them backing out. I was able to get the apartment by putting more down. New apartment, no furniture, water, gas or electric. Being the first renter to this apartment, I had to go around and get all my utilities turned on. Oh, also I just started driving in the DR. My realtor just gave me the paperwork to get my utilities turned on and sent me on my mission. Speaking very little Spanish was difficult, but the Dominican people worked with me and we got it done. I always greet and explain to them that I speak very little  Spanish. In some cases, they will bring someone over who speak a little English. The apartment is nice and in a good area of Santiago. I will wait to see if I can do a 3 to 5 year lease before I add a lot of furniture. I am practicing my Spanish for me and in respect to the country. Never know, I might be able to do my computer business here.

Great update, thanks for sharing!!!

Hello Planner