Job change while in EP -III and tax clearence.

Hi,

I am Shanmugha, from India . I have been working in Malaysia for almost two years. My current EP  is expiring by September-2018.
I got a new offer from another company and i am willing to take it . I have a few uncleared questions.

1. For stage 1 for the new company do i need to give a release letter from the old company or release letter needed for stage 2 only?
2. As i am currently in Malaysia and working , for change of company within Malaysia do i need to do tax clearance for 2018 or just previous year tax declaration would be enuf for joining the new company?
3. Employment pass from my current employer can be cancelled after the stage 1 approval from the new employer ?

Kindly help on the above .

Thanks

Yes, you need a release letter (NOC) for Stage 1.
Yes, need to do tax clearance

See paperwork requirements: Annex D
https://esd.imi.gov.my/portal/pdf/TC-ES … r-2017.pdf

Current company will cancel your EP once you resign and you are working your notice period.

BUT
If you are on EP Category III (3) and the new job is also Category III* - you have a 3 month cooling off period so will leave the country and enter for the new job on a Visa with Reference (VDR)

*Category III - salary RM3000-4999

Hi Gravitas,

Thx for ur reply .

I came to know that tax clearance only if i need to exit out of Malaysia and come back . If i just change company within Malaysia without exit from malaysia do i still need to clear the tax for 2018 .

Is it not possible to declare the tax next year in 2019 show the EA forms of my old employer and new employer ?

Always need to do tax clearance when changing job.

Read the link provided earlier as it states what paperwork for tax is required for the Stage I approval with new employer (i.e. its part of the Stage I process).

Cooling off period is potentially relevant

Thx for ur reply,

I would also like to know regarding my EP .