Moving to Zanzibar from South Africa

Good day,

My family and I would like to move to Zanzibar in December 2018 and would like to take our dogs with. We are currently looking for any business or job opportunities.  My husband is a mechanical engineer and I'm an accountant. We are willing to learn and do any job that is available.  Or we would like to invest in a business opportunity.  If anyone has any position available or information we would appreciate hearing from you

Thank you!

Hi Mariska

I have been keeping an eye on this site and am pretty well in the same situation as you guys.  I moved to the UK from SA a couple of years ago but will be relocating to Zanzibar in 2020 (Africa is in my blood and I don't much like northern hemisphere style of life, including the gloomy weather!).  Like you I have nothing in place there yet.  I will be taking a long trip by Landrover, driving through Europe to Spain and then down round the bulge of Africa, south and then up through Zimbabwe to Zanzibar.  A long trip but I will take my time.  I will only start looking at setting up in Zanzibar from next year on, and I will be interested to follow your progress in making arrangements for your move there and what you find and do when you are there.  All the best!

Kind regards

Hi ,

That sounds amazing to do and all the best with your trip. 

So far we do not have much information on immegrating.  Everyone has a different opinion.  So far we have realised that it is who you know and how much money you have to get things done. We have decided to open our own business in Zanzibar and we have started the process of registering the business . We have contacted laywers in Zanzibar to get this started but we have noticed that you have to be there and this is also a very costly approach  . We will keep you informed on the progress. 

Once again good luck on your journey .

Regards
Mariska

Hi