Successes in your career in Germany

Hello,

Becoming an expat means starting over in a new country, and a lot of times that also means starting over in your career as well.

How have your skills and experiences evolved since moving to Germany?

What does being successful in your career mean to you?

Can you share some tips about what to do and what to avoid in order to advance in your professional career in Germany?

Can you share an inspirational career story with us?

Did you have to change careers or adapt your career to fit the job demands in Germany?

How do you balance a successful career with your personal and social life?

What are the benefits of having work experience in different countries?

Thank you for sharing your experience,

Priscilla

Yes, I feel the need to share my experience in Germany. First of all I am a recognized expert in my field in the U.S. I have consulted with the U.S. Government on several projects. I also had a successful business for over 20 years with 17 employees. I moved to Germany to work in my field. I was hired by a company in Munich to come there and run their operations. They signed a visa application for me stating they would hire me full-time as an employee so that is how I got my German Visa. They stated that they could not find a qualified German to do the specialty work that I do. So after I arrived in Germany, this company said that instead of employing me, they wanted me to get my Gewerbe so that they could hire me as a subcontractor and they told me that was better for me, so I got the Gewerbe. Then I found out later that, as a foreigner, I was not allowed to have a Gewerbe, which means you have your own business, for the first two years that I was in Germany. I told this company that they were paying me illegally and that they needed to hire me as an employee to be legal, but they simply said "no, we pay you as a subcontractor. That is fine and legal".  I went to two different attorneys and both of them said that wh