Migrate from Malaysia to NZ

Hello all!

My name is Jasper and I live in Selangor, Malaysia.  I graduated with BEng Mechanical Engineering. Previous job was Project Engineer(M&E) and Intern for 2 years. Currently, I'm working as Business Operations Manager in a FMCG company.

I plan to have a change in environment and career. After numerous research, I have decided to work in New Zealand (Wellington / Bay of Plenty if possible).

I have gone through the immigration website and have some idea of visa applicable to me which is Residence Visa(SMC) and Work to Residence Visa. However, it is impossible for me to obtain the minimum EOI points which is 160 at the moment without securing a job offer. Hence, both options would require me to secure a job offer before applying.

It would be extremely helpful if anyone from Malaysia or anywhere else in the world who managed to migrate to NZ using these two method could share their experience. Any help or comments are highly appreciated. 

Cheers!

Your research has been on the right way. However, unfortunately, its very rare that you get a direct job offer from NZ based on your expertise. Almost all the engineering employers need the candidate to be present in NZ prior to hiring them.  Based on your search and the available jobs, you can plan a pre-visit to NZ as a tourist and seek the available opportunities and probably meet the employers.  You may find your way. Best of luck !

Thank you very much for your input. I fully agree that it is very difficult to land a job offer as a immigrant. I've been rejected numerous times since. Hopefully I could be invited for an interview so I could inform them that I am willing to fly in NZ to meet them if necessary. Cheers!

Hopefully I could be invited for an interview so I could inform them that I am willing to fly in NZ