Permanent Resident With Online US Income

Hi

I'm a self-employed game developer from the US who sells games, game assets, and art services online and receives self-employment income digitally through Paypal or by direct transfer to my US bank account. I've been living in Brazil since last April (2017) and became a permanent resident on August 30th 2017 shortly after getting married to my Brazilian wife. All the money I earn is held in my US bank account and I use my credit card for any purchases here in Brazil.

This being my first year in Brazil, I'm still trying to understand how I should be filing my taxes here. I have already reported my income in my US taxes as usual but I would like to know if I'm expected to do the same for the Receita Federal given my situation.

Any incite would be appreciated :)

My recommendation would be to identify a trustworthy public accountant through your wife, or her family or your friends, and discuss your situation with that person.  As a self-employed knowledge worker, you'd be considered a "Profissional Liberal" here, and probably be able to choose what level of income you and the accountant believe is appropriate to report.  Even though you apparently aren't leaving a trail in the local banking system, you do have a CPF, and eventually the Receita Federal may start to wonder how you're able to flourish as a permanent resident on nothing a year.
April is tax reporting month, so it's worth some attention in the very near future.

Don't worry about it pal....

Cough, cough...don't worry about it...

abthree wrote:

My recommendation would be to identify a trustworthy public accountant through your wife, or her family or your friends, and discuss your situation with that person.

It turns our that a few family members on my wife's fathers side are pretty keyed in to this whole process. Also we were able to ask some of my wife's colleagues who work at an English school who are familiarized expats.