Suggestions for finding jobs as a freshman

Hi Everyone,

I'm a freshman from Denmark (23y) who recently finished my bachelor degree in Economics and Business Administration as well as 6 month internship in a Pharmaceutical company.

I'm very interested in moving to Manama and work for a large (preferably international) company. Therefore, I would like to hear your suggestions to how I should accomplish this?

So far, my plan has been to apply for specific positions through job sites as well as applying directly at the companies website (even though they have no open vacancies). Also, I've been trying to connect with people on LinkedIn and start a dialog, but it does not seem like a very efficient procedure.

What is your experience in doing this? And should I do anything else/more?

Looking forward to hearing from you!

Best regards,
Joachim Schelde

As I posted on a previous thread:

https://www.expat.com/forum/viewtopic.p … 94#4146766

The reason I am referring to this is to link to the basic context.  You are doing the right things but the biggest issue is what I have highlighted in the thread before i.e. lack of overall experience and lack of GCC experience.

To add on to why that matters:

First, its about the cost. In today's market, companies are not going to bring in an expat from outside the GCC unless they can't find those skills in the local market.   And you are an almost fresh graduate so they are definitely not going to undertake that hassle when they can get someone similar who is a local and would help their localisation ratio (read third point).

Secondly, over the last few years, with the decline in the economies of the GCC, the preference has shifted from western expats to asian/non-gcc arab expats who have the skills and cost much less than a westerner.