Can I get a French citizenship if I'm on a student visa?

I'm going back to France (I'm currently in France) because my visa expires but I haven't studied in France for over 8 months can I get my citizenship and bring along my husband?

(Btw if this helps I got my masters last year, got married and now I plan on to go back to France)

(Also, I came to France on my student visa before it expires and I'm currently here with my brother, and I graduated last year from a French university.)

I don't think that time here on a student visa counts towards immigration. You need several years here on an immigration path before you can apply, then it takes at least a couple of years to process (it has built-in wait times).
If you graduated from a French school, then I think that reduces the years you have to reside here before applying (From 5 years to 2?).
Meanwhile, you need to be here on the right visa. I'm no expert.

Your husband would have to have his own visa, until you get citizenship (then he would switch to spouse visa, and/or apply himself)

Julie, you've been very helpful in identifying necessary steps in iverwhelming bureaucracy of France. I wonder, if you could give a tip. I am an American citizen who married a Belgian woman 4 years. We have been living in Arlon, BE near Luxembourg where my wife works. We bought an apartment in Metz, FR and will be relocating there in June. I was told in the French embassy to apply for a visa to France that will give me 6 months to apply for permanent residence at the prefecture in Metz. Apparently, France only gives maximum 1-year residence until one lives tgere 5 years to gwt the citizenship. It sounds like a lot if hassle,  especially while I go twice a year back to US. Do you any advice?
On another subject: can I get English speaking channels in France like CNN, BCC etc through a cable/phone service provider?

GregorySegal wrote: