Getting health insurance when you’re a temporary resident

Hi,

I would like to have some feedback about your experiences with the finding/purchase of health insurances. As a temporary resident, I can't get the country's insurance plan.

Thank you

For private insurance It's a straightforward process:

1.) Select the insurance company you want. You can go to their offices and some have booths at malls.

2.) Provide cédula, and answer questions (biographic, pre-existing, etc).

3.) Select the insurance plan you want.

4.) Provide bank information so they can automatically debit monthly cost of insurance.

5.) In two weeks or so you'll receive by courier your insurance card and a hard-copy of insurance policy.

If you want proof of insurance go to one of their offices and request such.

For private insurance It's a straightforward process:

1.) Select the insurance company you want. You can go to their offices and some have booths at malls.

2.) Provide cédula, and answer questions (biographic, pre-existing, etc).

3.) Select the insurance plan you want.

4.) Provide bank information so they can automatically debit monthly cost of insurance.

If you will only be in Ecuador for a short time, find out if you can pay cash monthly instead of using your credit card or bank draw. Some individuals have had difficulty stopping the deductions when ending the coverage. Watch your account, if you chose to pay automatically, and notify your card company or bank to stop the deductions when it is time to drop the insurance.

Thanks.

As I understand, you cannot obtain a cedula while you're a temporary resident. Only once you've been approved for permanency.

So, how does it work without cedula?

Thank you

Lafrisee wrote:

Thanks.

As I understand, you cannot obtain a cedula while you're a temporary resident. Only once you've been approved for permanency.

So, how does it work without cedula?

Thank you

Don't worry about it. Your passport will suffice, and I just confirmed this.