Golf in Riyadh

Hi,

I am new to Riyadh and wandering if there are any golfers here who can guide me to the local playing facilities.......... I am not a beginner but can not classify myself as someone with below 20 handicap.

Cheers,
Shoaib

Hi Shoaib,

Welcome on Expat-blog! :)

I hope other members will advise you very soon.

All the best,
Christine

try out the dirab golf course.. I don't play golf myself but have heard from friends who do that it is by faaaar the best one in town.. they have various memberships packages and tournaments as well..

Riyadh Golf Courses on Exit 65 Qassim Highway is the only other one I know about .. there is one in Arizona Resort and Compound as well, but since it is a residential compound .. I am not sure whats the protocol for playing there

oh yeah .. riyadh intercon has a gold course as well

kamiii wrote:

try out the dirab golf course.. I don't play golf myself but have heard from friends who do that it is by faaaar the best one in town..

I became a member this week(SAR 16,000/yr).  4 things appealed to me:

1. Green fees included(SAR 150-300/round...though I'll never get my money back soley through golf); add cart for SAR 70, or walk...which *is* allowed.
2. Driving range/unlimited balls included.
3. Equestrian center--take the dozen or so horses out for a trot around the valley.  No add'l charge.
4. Nice large outdoor pool, cleaned every Saturday.  Large enough for swimming laps.

Surrounded by Saudi Nat'l Guard posts on the adjacent hill tops--though I can't confirm they're occupied, or awake.

They open at 5:30 a.m., probably close after dark? If anyone is interested in meeting for a round...we can talk.

GreatLaker wrote:
kamiii wrote:

try out the dirab golf course.. I don't play golf myself but have heard from friends who do that it is by faaaar the best one in town..

I became a member this week(SAR 16,000/yr).  4 things appealed to me: