New expat going live in Thuwal in great need of advise on life in KSA.

Hi All, I am an Automation Engineer and just got a job to work in Thuwal. I have been researching on the Internet about KSA for the whole day. I must admit if what they are saying is true, it will be a big change for me and my family.

I am a Christian , married with 2 small kids. I understand practicing Christianity will be illegal, I respect that. I however have questions that I will need advise on.

1.My wife is studying Accounting through ACCA and we have already seen places where she can go for classes and exams in Jeddah. My question is how easy will this be since she will not be able to drive and it is not allowed or advisable for women to travel alone in KSA?

2. I have read of some cases where the employer will change your working conditions and even you salary and benefits when you get, How common is this?

3. I have also read somewhere where people where talking of there being preferential treatment with Saudis first, Westerner, Filipinos, Indians and everyone else down the hierarchy. I am a black African, should I be worried of racism or segregation?

4. As a family we love outdoors and living close to the sea will my wife required to always cover her body even on the beach?

5. Having said all this, which is better to live in a compound or rent a house or apartment outside compounds, given I am a Christian?

Thanks you in advance.

1:i dont know about expacts women that they can drive, it is not allowed for a women to travel alone in KSA. Women can drive cars starting from june 24 2018. but im not sure about expat women.

2:well if you are employed in a big firm then whatever is written on your contract is going to be geniune but if your are employed in a small firm then there may be consequences for you.