Visa Help Please

Hi All,

Thank you for reading.
We are South-African and would like to move to the UK for a few years to life, depending on how it goes :)

1. I am South-African and hold both a South-African and British passport.
2. My wife is South African.
3. My kids (10 and 13) are South-African.

I need some help regarding Visa requirements. I have already a lot of information and was told that we require Settlement Visas in order for my kids to attend school and for my wife to work. If we don't hold Settlement Visas then my wife cannot work and my kids may not attend school. The idea is to stay long enough for them to become UK citizens and also get their British Passports.

1. I am a Software Engineer and will be working for a South-African company (Not Expat) from the UK. (Need internet line only) So I will register my own cc and basically work for myself.
2. My wife will want to work in the UK as a qualified primary school teacher.
3. My kids need to attend school.

Problem:
It costs (in SA Rand), roughly R130 000.00 for the 3 Visas for my family. Now with R130k I can buy a new car or even pay half of the buying price of an apartment in the city. It's quite a bit of money.

So my question is this:
1. Do I really need such expensive Visas if I want my wife to work and kids to attend school in the UK?
2. Can we start with cheaper Visas (work and attend school) and apply for better ones at a later stage without leaving the country first?
3. If it's possible to do this on cheaper Visas, will my family be allowed to apply for British citizenship after a few years? Or do the have to be on settlement visas?

Sorry, it's a lot of questions.
Any information will be appreciated.
Thanks

Hi there and welcome to the Forum.

At the top of this page is a link to our Handy Tools section, if you select that, you'll get access to our Expat Guides, these contain articles that may help you in your journey.

To answer your specific questions: