Taxes

I recently moved to Tijuana work In San Diego with a Mexican tourist visa about to apply for a temporary residence permit from Mexico how will I handle taxes o make about 50k per year?

Lou1216 wrote:

I recently moved to Tijuana work In San Diego with a Mexican tourist visa about to apply for a temporary residence permit from Mexico how will I handle taxes o make about 50k per year?

If you do not make money in Mexico you don't owe taxes to Mexico. So the tax issue is with the U.S.  If you have a very large amount ( over 10 thousand U.S.) of money in a Mexican interest paying bank  , that complicates the tax issue.
Of course if you recently flew into Mexico you might have heard or seen that number on declaration forms.

I am no tax expert, but have been checking this issue for my own personal consumption.  Here's my understanding.  You only pay Mexican taxes on what you earn in Mexico.  You will pay US Federal taxes.  You might not have to pay California state income taxes if you can show you have little or no ties to CA.  CA doesn't really care where you live if you own property in CA, have a bank account in CA, register your cars in CA, or have a CA driver's license you will probably have to pay CA income taxes.  We have two rental properties in CA and plan to live in Mexico at least 6-10 months out of the year and travel to visit grandkids the remainder.  I don't want to give up my CA DL or hassle with re-reg my cars, so I am pretty much stuck paying CA income taxes.  We are considering applying for the permanent resident.  But I don't want to give up my SENTRI pass, which I think I have to have a US address to keep it.

jamesr3939 wrote: