Job offer received in Jakarta - help

Hi All

I've received a draft contract for a position in Jakarta on a 12 month fixed term contract, I'm an Engineer from the UK.

I've reviewed the contract and I'm shortlisting some questions for the employer but I want to ask the right questions.

1. Under the "Leave" section the clause states: "The remuneration rate has been calculated to compensate you for any leave and for (non-working) public holidays you may be entitled to under policy or statute, to the extent this is possible under law." - this is not clear to me. How much annual leave would i get? and would I be paid for it or is it unpaid?

2. There is no mention of sick leave anywhere in the contract. another clause does mention that if i dont work my contracted weekly hours of 48 hours, i would be deducted for each day by 1/22 of the monthly income. does that suggest i dont get paid sick leave? is this normal in Indonesia?

3. One clause states that the employer is liable for any personal income tax and social benefits insurance. Is there a chance I could get stung by UK tax authority after I return? Does start and end date of employment influence this? UK financial year is April to April, so it might be in my best interest to commence my employment before April? Is this something I should consider?

Your advice would be appreciated.

Thanks

As far as I know there isn't a tax agreement between the UK and Indonesia but you can check this through the UK gov site online. You are legally working here then you will get a tax code and have to pay tax and finding out how much might be a challenge but your employer will tell you. You should also ask about when you leave and how the tax process ends as again that might not be clear and being indoensia won't be clearly explained.
Sick entitlement isnt a given here although there should be some mention of it. You should ask and then ask why not.