Info on Visa from the UK please!

Hello all!

I am coming to Ras al Kaimah on April 13th.
My boyfriend lives there and I am wanting to stay for at least a year....

The issue is that I do not have a job (I am a self employed freelancer)

So I have a few questions ....

I see that I can just get a 30 day visa on arrival at the airport?
So ..

Can I extend this once I am in the country? - to either a 3 month tourist visa (or maybe I will apply for a work visa and get a job)

Do I have to have a return flight booked?

I am unsure of what the best option is...
It seems a pain in the arse to have to leave the country every 3 months... which is what I would have to do I guess? on a 3 month visa?

So maybe the best bet is to apply for a work visa and try to get a job ...

However, can I extend the 30 day visa to a work visa once in the country to not?

Many thanks guys! :)

You can get visa on arrival and extend it for a certain time period; usually 3 months.  You don't need to have a return flight booked; they don't ask at immigration.

You can do visa runs - most people do this by driving across the Dubai-Oman border at Hatta and then turning back.  From RAK, it's a 4-5 hour round trip by road.

Yes, the best bet is to get a job to avoid the 3 month visa runs.  Plus you need to be resident to avail most services - rentals, bank accounts etc. However, it really is a trade-off - you mention you are a free-lancer; with a job, you will be tied down and RAK is not exactly the hub for finding different kinds of jobs (mostly big industry based jobs).

XTang wrote:

You can get visa on arrival and extend it for a certain time period; usually 3 months.  You don't need to have a return flight booked; they don't ask at immigration.

You can do visa runs - most people do this by driving across the Dubai-Oman border at Hatta and then turning back.  From RAK, it's a 4-5 hour round trip by road.