About work/employment visa

Hi. I am Vishnu and I am a commerce graduate fresher from Bangalore, India. I have got a job opportunity in Malaysia through family network. The employer is ready to take me into his organisation. Can you please tell me if I would be granted a work/employment visa? Or will I be granted a foreigner work permit?

That depends on which type of Employment Pass the business owner applies for (each route is in a completely different system).

But being a fresh graduate the FW EP might be easier to get.

Immigration usually rejects applications for PP/EP as the minimum requirement is 2-3 years' relevant experience. If the job can be done by a Malaysian, then they will also reject the application.

So it may prove more successful to be recruited as an unskilled service sector employee under the FW/EP.

But don't hold your breath.......

The employer should do some research themselves before blindly making an application. You can share this link with them, as it shows the sort of paid-up capital any company needs to be able to hire foreigners. https://esd.imi.gov.my/portal/pdf/TC-ES … r-2017.pdf

If they don't qualify, they would need to review their incorporation.

Thanks so much for your reply..!
The company which is ready to recruit me is eligible to hire foreigners as they have done so in the past. But wouldn't my degree go waste if i am employed as a unskilled foreign worker? And also does Malaysian immigration grant FW EP for a Indian ?

The degree is only useful if you have 2-3 years postgraduate work experience. In other words, immigration don't usually approve PP/EPs for foreign freshers. The guide referenced earlier explains this. So the point is - why apply for something which is unlikely to succeed.

So what about the unskilled service sector foreign worker work permit? Would that be issued atleast?

That was discussed above and was the basis of your comment.......