Q: Why did the American cross the road in Vietnam?

A: She didn't, too chicken! 🐥🐥🐥

Hello fellow expats in Da Nang! I'm new to Vietnam, and after a week in Hanoi, I finally got the hang of the road crossing thing, mostly just following others.

Now I'm here in Da Nang, and there don't seem to be any other pedestrians besides me. :/

I usually walked a few hours a day back home in San Francisco, and for me, I'd rather stroll the 15 minutes to a café instead of taking a taxi. And wandering down back alleys and quiet residential streets is how I typically get to know a new place.

I realize I'm going to stick out like a sore thumb here regardless, but any tips for walking around without being rude or disturbing the locals would be greatly appreciated. :):)

Why would walking around be rude or disturbing?

You worry too much. Just walk as you usually do, nothing bad can happen. Enjoy :).

Well, maybe I'm over thinking it :):)

... but locals keep coming over to (I think) see if I need help or am lost. My Vietnamese is currently limited to the rudimentary, so I'm just doing my best.

I guess there are places in America where walking isn't the custom, and it's been known for police to come inquire as to what one is doing, or the neighbors are a bit disturbed.

Americans have a well deserved reputation for being rude when we travel, and I'm trying to be as polite as possible in a totally new culture.

haha, I see. it's very thoughtful of you. But no worries, as far as I know, there is no special requirement or notice when you walk around in Da Nang.

Thanks so much for the assistance. :)

Well, there's something to the expression "location, location, location." I moved accommodations across the river to near the beach and am happily walking around... just like everyone else, local and tourist alike. Good lesson to do better research before I book a place to stay! Thanks again for the advice. :):)