Close

Retirement and Tax advice

Hello.  I'm currently in Santiago de los Caballeros on a tourist visa.  I go back home often enough so that I don't overstay my welcome ;)  I currently work as an independent contractor through a U.S.-based company as well as another overseas company, and my earnings are obviously deposited into my U.S. bank account and I claim all of this when I file taxes with the IRS.  (I'm 32 years old in case that helps).

Since I am newly self-employed and currently spend a lot of time here in the Dominican Republic, figuring out what kind of retirement account would be best has been difficult.  Many bankers I spoke to said that if I tried to access my retirement account while abroad my account would automatically be closed and the money would be sent to me.  I found this a bit strange, but that is what I was told. 

Does anybody have any suggestions, referrals, or recommendations regarding whom I could speak to about the best retirement options for me?  (There is a possibility that I will be looking into applying for residency here in the future, but it is currently undecided).

Thank you in advance for any help you may offer.  :)

Banks in which country & abroad from which country?

Those will be US banks. Sounds to me like you are getting some bad advice.  I am Canadian so don't know all your laws but I have never heard of this.

I am,sure others will help and I will suggest asking on the US forums!

Thank you!!!

Check out this website: http://iralawyer.com/about/

We connected with John Hyre when we decided to purchase an investment property in DR through a self-directed IRA.  When it comes to IRAs, he is the best authority we could find! Attorney and accountant all in one. There might be articles on his website that answer your questions.