Difficulty of teaching english in Vietnam as a Vietnamese/American?

Hey Guys!

What is the difficulty of teaching english in Vietnam as a Vietnamese/American?

I am Vietnamese/American planning on moving to VIetnam. I have no Bachelor Degree or experience in teaching what so ever.  I plan on taking the Ninja Teacher 1 month TEFL program which guarantees a job right after the course is finished. I would like to know what are downfalls I could to face once I finish the course. I know I am going to face a lot of prejudices people who are going to judge me because I do not look foreign. I would like to know how bad is it?  I have read the salary is between 1k-2k a month. Em I going to make significantly lower? What other obstacle could I face?

Thank you

louiebui wrote:

I am Vietnamese/American planning on moving to VIetnam.

Strike one for teaching but maybe not for other occupations.

louiebui wrote:

I have no Bachelor Degree

A big swing and a miss!

louiebui wrote:

or experience in teaching what so ever

Probably strikes three.

louiebui wrote:

have read the salary is between 1k-2k a month. Em I going to make significantly lower?

A friend who left Vietnam at age 20, speaking only Vietnamese and Russian at the time, but graduated from Michigan State University told me that he made about $16/hour which is significantly lower than native speakers.  At that rate you would be hard pressed to make $1k/month let alone $2K.  My friend moved on to other entrepreneurial ventures which made him a lot more.

Thank you for you reply.