Does the German Freelancer Visa cover spouses?

Hi all!

I'm new to expat.com and plan on hopefully offering help in the future and using this great service! I'm a 24 year old American Citizen.

I've spent a total of 3ish years living in Germany when I was a teenager (military child) and in my early twenties. I've been wanting to go back ever since and recently discovered the freelancer artist visa. Everything checks out and it seems like I can go forth with making it happen, but I have 1 hang up that I can't seem to find the answer to. I plan on being married to my current partner of 7 years sometime this year (before I plan to move to Germany). Does having the freelance visa cover a spouse or will they have to apply for their own visa? If so, what options do they have?

If it seems like I may be missing some important info on this visa, please feel free to let me know or drop a link!

Firstly, Tominstuttgart is another forum member who is Anerican and freelance artist in Germany. He may be able to give you further advice.
Regarding your spouse: She can apply for a family reunion visa ("Familiennachzugsvisum") to join you in German if you can cover her basic living costs and accommodation. In detail this means:
- Income or financial reserves at the official survival minimum (poverty line) of currently €9000/year per person
- Rented (or owned) apartment of around 30sqm
- German health insurance (she can be covered by yours if you join the public scheme and she has no income)

Thank you so much! That information is very helpful!

Hi @robbiec, I was just wondering if you ever moved to Germany on a freelancer visa, and if so, were you able to get a family reunion visa for your spouse while you were on this visa? It seems to be very hard to find any other information about this online. Thanks!

I am a freelancer but married to a German so I was not personally confronted with this issue.