Do Italians hire non-EU citizens at all?

Hi :)
So, I have been here in Napoli for 1 year now, and, omg, it really is impossible to find a job here! No matter how good English or good Italian I speak (yes, even if I speak Italian), no matter how flexible, versatile or intelligent I am, it really seems to be all worthless!

I just need to assess the situation in a realistic way. I am dentist and freelance translator (sounds like an odd "career couple", i know). I have settled all my legal documents, including registering in the "Dental Council" here (l'ordine dei medici e degli odontoiatri)...but there is still something that I don't understand.

Alright, everybody here in Napoli  actually admits it's dauntingly difficult to get hired here...
So, my question to all up-north Italians around here: is it the same in the North?
Do foreign dentists ever get hired?
What if I am a dentist, but I would simply just like to do something else, is the field of study absolutely crucial to get hired somewhere?

Opinions and experiences will be much appreciated.
Grazie in anticipio!

Italia is split up in two, almost since the beginning of its unified history (1861). The north is much more swiss-style like, whilst the south has been falling behind for decades. This doesn't mean that you move to the north and you'll land a job almost automatically. Moreover, this doesn't mean that it is impossible to find a job in the south either.

It depends on how you're actually driving your job research.

To sum it up: yes, there's a wider job offer here in the north, although it is not easy to land a job.

Thank you!

You're very welcome :)

Hi Maggie