Rm13000 in Penang is it worth to move?

Hello All,

Im Ashwin from Banglore, India. I have 8 years of experience in IT industry. My current salary in India is INR 18.5 Lakh (RM 117000)per annum. I Have got an offer from a company in Penang Island for RM 13000.Work location is Bayan lepas, It is Permanent position and has 13 month salary too,no other allowances. My wife and 2 year old kid will be accompanying me.My kid will be going to kindergarten may be after an Year.   I have few questions.

1)considering my salary in India, Is it Worth to move for this salary?
2)How much Will I be able to save after 7th Month(After tax resident) Monthly if
I live in 1Bhk and near by office   ?
3)Moving to Malaysia, will add any importance in my Career profile?
4)Is it easy to get opportunity in Singapore if Im in Malaysia?
5)My wife is also having IT experience, Is it possible to get her a Job, what will be chance of making it?

Please share your valuable suggestions. Based on that Im planning to take decision.

Best Regards,
Ash

I am sure you can manage because you simply adjust your lifestyle to suit your salary income and your offered income is enough to get by. The increase in salary over what you currently earn in India is not so much. And Malaysia is much more expensive than India I am sure.

Consider the move as experience and the chance to live overseas. The wives of many Indian expats that come to live and work in Malaysia don't find it easy to find a job even when they seem very well qualified.

I do not know for Penang but in KL kindergarten usually starts at 2 years old and can cost more than Rm700 per month (I paid a lot more), that is more a daycare with some learning than a proper kindergarten. When your child turns six, they will begin primary education and not sure you could afford to put your child in an international school, it would be tight.