Moving to Bahrain soon, advice on car

Hi all

I have been reading the forum for a couple of months. Thanks to all the posters who have helped so many expats (and soon to be expats) like myself. If it wasn't for you all, I wouldn't have reached this stage.

I am an IT professional from London with around 12 years of experience. I have been offered a job in Bahrain with my current company. The job will be based in Al Muharraq area. The intended start date is flexible but I am targeting end of April or start of May. They will pay for relocation, medical for my family and a generic fixed allowance (rent, etc.) on top of the salary. I am married with two kids (7 and 5). My kids are in Year-2 and Reception respectively. My wife is a primary school classroom practitioner/ teacher assistant.

I will post multiple questions instead of one giant post. I think this will help others who are interested in one of my questions hence avoiding unnecessary noise. This question is regarding cars. I don't buy new cars, I have always bought cars that are 2-3 years behind the current model and I am happy doing this.

How much do I need to budget for a 2-3 years old Toyota Corolla or equivalent saloon? I would prefer a 4x4 but not sure if this will through my budget out completely.

What are my options for car lease or rental? From what I have seen, it works out quite expensive.

I can afford to pay around BD250 per month for car rental (if I don't buy). Will it be enough?

Really appreciate your help and looking forward to the responses. Thanks,

Visi

For cars, check prices on olx.com.  The prices will vary but you should get a good idea of the range.  Also check for "pre-owned" cars in showrooms.  These are basically refurbished older cars sold with warranty and service options by the show room themselves.  A bit more expensive than the market but properly checked and with the necessary support behind them.