Moving to Bahrain soon, advice on housing

Hi all

I have been reading the forum for a couple of months. Thanks to all the posters who have helped so many expats (and soon to be expats) like myself. If it wasn't for you all, I wouldn't have reached this stage.

I am an IT professional from London with around 12 years of experience. I have been offered a job in Bahrain with my current company. The job will be based in Al Muharraq area. The intended start date is flexible but I am targeting end of April or start of May. They will pay for relocation, medical for my family and a generic fixed allowance (rent, etc.) on top of the salary. I am married with two kids (7 and 5). My kids are in Year-2 and Reception respectively. My wife is a primary school classroom practitioner/ teacher assistant.

I will post multiple questions instead of one giant post. I think this will help others who are interested in one of my questions hence avoiding unnecessary noise. This question is regarding accommodation.

Based on the fixed allowance, I have budgeted BD800 for rent. I am looking to find a property somewhere close to St Christopher's and British School of Bahrain. I was wondering if someone here can help me with the following questions.

Based on reading forums and my own research, I am inclined towards Saar. I have also seen some concerns around the area from other expats. I don't have any detail but I have been told to avoid few areas of Saar. Can anyone please tell me if this is true? Should I avoid Saar altogether?

Is Al Muharraq commutable from Saar on a daily basis?

Is BD800 a good budget for a 2-3 BR villa in Saar or an area close to the schools? I am not after luxury but a safe place with some garden space and shared gym/ pool is what we desire.

Are there any other areas I should consider?

Should I consider compounds only? How safe are villas that are not part of a compound? I have two kids who love to run around A LOT.