Working Spouse and Tag Along. Possible?

Hi,

My wife and I are looking to move with our 2-year-old son next year. I have 5 years ESL teaching experience at a university here in Canada and we are both TEFL certified with bachelor degrees (history for me and business for her with a master in counseling psychology)

We have tons of questions!

1. Is there any possibility of her working as a counselor? (English or French kids at private schools?)

2. Can a family survive with only one person teaching on a 30 000 - 40 000 a month salary in say Huai - Hin, Chang Mai, Chang Rai or Phuket? (We aren't looking to live a lavish lifestyle, but want to have a safe place to live for our family and plan on eating almost exclusively Thai food, and to save money we plan on homeschooling in the future if necessary)

3. Do most places require your transcripts or just your diploma?

4.  What is the stance on tattoos? I have one and it's not visible, but am wondering if it should be covered when going to the pool etc.

Hello. Just came across your post. You should be able to live here on a salary of between 30'000 to 40'000฿ per month, but don't expect to save much if your supporting another person on this. My advice would be to consider doing some extra online teaching work also. I teach in  government schools up and down the country but I mainly teach in Pakchong area and in my spare time I also do a bit of online teaching twice a week. I can say that it really does boost the monthly income.

To be hired as a teacher here you will definitely need your original certificates ( degree and transcripts ) also your TEFL certificate. Thailand is taking this very seriously now, so make sure you bring all of your original certificates with you otherwise you will not get a work permit. On the topic of tats, if they can be covered then that's perfectly fine.