ELT advice needed

Hi all

I'm new to Ho Chi Minh, having arrived here after completing a charity bicycle ride from London to China.

I'm hoping to stay here long term and think my best option, particularly in the short term (while I try to learn Vietnamese) is teaching English. However, I dont yet have a formal teaching qualification.

I'm trying to decide between investing a lot of money in a CELTA/TESOL qualification and a far cheaper but lesser-regarded online course.

Can anyone help? Will schools here accept the online version?

Thanks in advance.

Peter

Hi and welcome on the forum Peter :)

I hope other members will show up with some useful advices soon ;)

Regards
Armand

Hey Peter, welcome :-)

If you have a degree then the schools will accept anything :-) Without it well lets say the better schools wont touch you and the others as long as you get knocking on enough doors you should be able to find work.

PS, congrats on the novel method on getting here :-)

actually, you can try studying ELT at Ho Chi Minh University of Education. They offer short courses I think. Or, you can do the online courses as you want. Without proper education, it's hard to get into good language centers.

I love hearing that anyone is learning Vietnamese :x

Thanks for the good advice, laidbackfreak. I'm very relieved: 8 months on the bike has almost ruined me and I'm loath to spend big before I start.

I've got a degree so I'll head to Ho Chi Minh University and see what they've got on offer.

Girl_like_me: Stay tuned for incredibly bad Vietnamese posts soon :)

Well, spending time for studying vietnamese in school is not enough for you actually, you should accompany with some local friends to have further skillfull speaking... lol

@Peter: hihi, try some with me. I'm eager. I feel excited when anyone tries to learn Vietnamese (I'm doing my degree in applied linguistics so I'm much interested with these things)

girl_like_me wrote: