Can a family survive? One working one at home.

Hi,

My wife and I are looking to move with our 2-year-old son next year. I have 5 years ESL teaching experience at a university here in Canada and we are both TEFL certified with bachelor degrees (history for me and business for her with a master in counseling psychology)

We have tons of questions!

1. Is there any possibility of her working as a counselor? (English or French kids at private schools?)

2. Can a family survive with only one person teaching on a 30 000 - 40 000 a month salary in say Huai - Hin or Phuket? (We aren't looking to live a lavish lifestyle, but want to have a safe place to live for our family and plan on eating almost exclusively Thai food, and to save money we plan on homeschooling in the future if necessary)

3. Do most places require your transcripts or just your diploma?

4.  What is the stance on tattoos? I have one and it's not visible, but am wondering if it should be covered when going to the pool etc.

5. How do you change your profile pic? :)

Thanks so much for any advice!

Cheers,

Steve

1. From what I've seen, the degree's major doesn't matter that much. She's got a master's degree and that will impress them.
2. I think 30,000 - 40,000 baht a month is cutting it close. Maybe possible if your significant other is a Thai. ;)
3. I'm not working as a TESOL yet, so I can't say how most places operate. If you can get a copy of transcripts to bring along, that might be smart.
4. I've never heard that anyone has problems with tattoos (in Thailand) unless you are at a temple.
5. Hover over your profile pic (at the upper right). A pull-down appears. Select Edit. Then hover over your pic and a little camera icon appears. Can you take it from there?

Thanks for all the info Ruffian Dick! I've seen your comments on others posts and they are all well informed and with good intentions.

My significant other isn't Thai, she's the one with the masters degree though :)