Recent uptick in crime in San Miguel de Allende

Howdy! 
My name is Susan.  I am a retired musician living in Las Vegas. I first came to SMA in the early eighties to visit the Art Institute.  I just loved it!  In fact I love everywhere I've been in Mexico.  I wasn't too sure about driving in Mexico City, but I soon realized that if I survived it, I was meant to be around for a while.  In fact, I've been on some pretty hairy rides. As an entertainer, I toured the Far East during the Viet Nam War and as a tourist I've spent a fair amount of time in New York and Europe, but it was all a piece of cake compared to Mexico City.  I hope it hasn't changed.  Nothing like heart stopping experiences to keep the juices flowing.
So, speaking of heart stopping, I've been reading articles in the local SMA paper about some pretty brutal murders, not to mention rapes and other violent crimes.  Some people have remarked that the U.S. papers put out a lot of hype about the crime in Mexico, but I would assume that the local paper is probably accurate.  My friends think I'm crazy to want to move there and they've done their best to talk me out of it. I remind them that we recently suffered through the worst mass murder in U.S. history. I get a "Well, ya, but, it's Mexico!" Well, ya, but it's Las Vegas. As a native Northern Californian who can't afford to go back, I don't intend to be the thing that happens in Las Vegas that stays in Las Vegas.
I really feel as if I belong in SMA. As I have here, I want to help the children who want to learn to play a stringed instrument, but whose families can't afford lessons. I also want to write a book. People have been telling me to write my autobiography since I was in my twenties. In looking back, I do have to admit that I've had a rather unusual life.