Where do you recommend I start?

Hi everyone! I am new here and can see that this is the place to get started on the Forum.
     I am just beginning to explore the possibility of a permanent home in PR. I was born, raised, and currently living in North Central Ohio -- and at nearly 50 years old, I'm so over "winter"!!
I am newly divorced after 29 years of marriage, and an empty nester after raising three children.
    I have nothing but time on my hands, as I am also a retired holistic midwife. I have a generous residual income from an MLM business, and will continue to work online from my new home -- wherever that may be.
    I will be scheduling a trip to PR the month of January, and using Airbnb to stay in a few different places. Where do you recommend I start? I prefer small town living with a few conveniences like reliable internet and a good fresh food market. Because I am alone, I would like to be where other expats are concentrated...
    Thanks for your time, I am excited to connect with you knowledgeable folks!
    Warmly, Tricia

Hi Tricia,
Welcome to the forum and Puerto Rico soon.
There are 78 towns, each with its own flavor. As this is your first trip I would recoment you try the follownig areas:
Condado (part of San Juan)
Dorado
Fajardo
Humacao (Palmas Del Mar)
Rincon (west of the Island)

In each of those you will find large concentrations of English Speakers. Not everyone in PR speaks English. Not sure if you have any knowledge of Spanish but the more fluent you are the easier it will be to comunicate

As to January and Internet service. We just went thru a devasted storm and Puerto Rico is barely recovering. At this moment about 57% of the island have electricity and it is iffy, every few days those that have it loose it. About 90% of the island has running water but it needs to be boiled for 5 minutes before it is safe to drink. There is little inspection at the moment for the safety of the beaches and they are likely to be contaminated.