Finding IT job in Germany - all the challenges

Hello everyone,
I searched this forum prior to posting this question and found similar other questions, yet I decided to post it anyway, in hope someone could give me some (valuable) advice.
My current situation: I live (and work) currently in Croatia and I want to move to Germany with my family (wife and 2 children). Since I wanted to find a job first and then to move, I started to send applications to various job ads I found on job websites (mostly through Monster, Indeed and Glassdoor). I sent approximately 50 applications, out of which around 40% were rejected, and for the rest I never got any answer. I am a senior Java developer, with a more than 15 years of work experience in that field; I am a citizen of an EU country, which additionally doesn't need work permit for Germany (as of July 1st 2015); I am a B2 level German speaker and I wrote by myself job applications in German language for job ads that were published in German; the CV I always sent was, though, in English, but I used it when applying for jobs in Croatia, too, and it was here never a problem; I targeted both big international companies (SAP, Daimler) as well as numerous Mittelstand ones. I also must admit I targeted companies mostly from Baden-Wuerttemberg (I lived there in my childhood, so I know the region, and for some other private reasons...) but I read that the BW should be one of the most popular IT cluster regions in Germany.
So, before admitting that I, in all this cases, really didn't have (the exact) skills the employers needed, I wanted to rule out all other possible reasons for my (until this moment) unsuccessful jobhunt:
- is it that I still live in another country, so it would be too much effort for employers to hire me (compared with available working force in Germany)? But I can't afford (financially) to move to Germany before I find a job and, additionally, finding accommodation IS usually conditioned by having a job in advance!