Back to Europe - Living in London

Hello, my name is Dustin and I'm a 25 year Floridian who is planning to move to London.  I have an EU passport, so I don't expect to have any visa or work permit problems.  For a number of reasons beyond my control I am unable to save a lot of money before going, so I'd like an opinion or two on the feasibility of my plan.

I expect to have about £2000 upon arrival, and I hope to make it last 4-6 weeks, taking into account things like hostel for a week, inexpensive flatshare (£60-80 pw) with deposit after that, a cheap mobile phone, tube ticket, and food/incidental expenses.

In the long term I will be looking for an IT position as I have a degree in the field, but I don't expect to find that sort of job in such quick time.  I will, however, need to find any sort of job to bridge the gap for a few months until I land the sort of long term job I'm looking for.

If I allow for a week to get settled, does a month to find a job provide me with reasonable time?  I'm up for anything reasonable, from waiting to office paper shuffling, etc.  My CV is mostly full of technology specific education and limited work experience, and I don't have a lot of references, but I am fluent in (american) English and German, and quite resourceful besides.