Traffic in Russia

Hello everyone,

Which city or area do you live in in Russia, and how do you find the traffic?

How long does it take to commute to work or run errands?

Is there a rush hour in your city? What times of the day would you recommend people to avoid driving if they can?

Are there any ways to avoid spending too much time in traffic in Russia?

What is parking availability and cost like?

Thank you for sharing your experience.

Priscilla

since I am just a poor professor in a small city, buying a car is not an option for me.

I used public transportation to commute.

here, I made some short documentation.

youtu.be/1TapKrul194

enjoy

A bunch of little things I've noticed regarding getting around in Moscow ...

The underground metro is the usual means on transport inside Moscow, along with trains and buses. You can now purchase a Troika card for all of these, but many of the buses in surrounding towns do not accept it.

If riding the trains, you will receive a little scrap of paper as your ticket - do not throw it away until you have left the station at your destination. Technically buses are supposed to provide you with a ticket upon payment but they almost never do, and it's almost never required.

As with some other things here, cabs are ubiquitous and relatively inexpensive in Moscow, so, if you have some money, it's not a bad way to get around.

If riding a boat on the river, I suggest purchasing your pass waterside, since online sites jack up the price for tourists.

Commute times around Moscow can vary quite a bit, depending on location and road conditions. Some sections of the circular MKAD highway, for example, are are known to be typically slower than others. People in Moscow generally begin work at 9AM and leave at 6PM. If commuting, I'd suggest leaving a bit early in the morning to avoid traffic. What might be a 40-minute drive some days may be a 2-hour drive others. If you can, use the metro.