Friends in Frankfurt

Hello,
I'm planning to spend few days to a week in Germany, mainly Frankfurt. I wanted to meet or talk to locals and students of good locations for accommodations and sights to visit while in Frankfurt.  Do you have any suggestions?  I'm from California, US. I work fulltime and am a student as well.
Some questions I have are:
Is it wise to rent a car and drive solo throughout?
Where can I meet students?
What are some good coffee shops where I can spend time doing my homework while enjoying my vacation.  etc...
Looking forward to hearing back from you.

Hi,
I hope that you haven't visited Frankfurt already, since it's already been a month since you've posted :)
I'm pretty new to Frankfurt too. Just moved here a bit more than a month ago. But I can recommend to visit the Palmengarten and take a trip up the Maintower, form there you have a nice view over the city.
I wouldn't advise you to rent a car, parking spaces are rare and therefore it is easier if you just by a ticker for the bus/train system. You can get them for a whole day/week/month and can reach just about everything.
We've got several Starbucks and other coffee shops spread throughout the city. Most of them are either on the Zeil or close to the Hauptwache.
I can't tell you were to meet other students. But if your not shy, you can always try any of the campuses and talk to any of the students running around, I'm pretty sure they'll show you around.
Hope that I was able to help.
Grüße Nadine

Hi,