Got appointment after visa type D expiration

Hi,

My visa is expiring on 17th November and my appointment date is 30th November. I am currently in student visa, type D. Is it okay to stay till the the appointment date or I have to leave the country?

PS: I am an Indian resident.

Regards,
Azlaan

It is NEVER o.k. to stay longer than your visa validity.
If you want to avoid flying home, contact the Auslaenderamt to ask if and how an extension is possible.

One should take it serious. Some people seem to think it is a minor thing. You will have to pass customs and they will note you have overstayed. You will not be arrested or fined for overstaying; you will be free to leave. But if you ever decide to return to German they will see this in the computer and it can be grounds for denying another visa. It will not help then to say it was just a few weeks and you did not know the consequences. Best to find an official solution if you ever plan to return to Europe.

TominStuttgart wrote:

One should take it serious. Some people seem to think it is a minor thing. You will have to pass customs and they will note you have overstayed. You will not be arrested or fined for overstaying; you will be free to leave. But if you ever decide to return to German they will see this in the computer and it can be grounds for denying another visa. It will not help then to say it was just a few weeks and you did not know the consequences. Best to find an official solution if you ever plan to return to Europe.

Some incorrect points in your post Tom,

First, customs is not interested in overstays/visa status....that is immigration/passport control.  Also, visa overstays are often if not always fined, along with an entry in the Schengen Information System, and you can be detained by the police and required to sign a document saying you have committed a criminal act.  I would be careful about assuring anyone they will just walk out of Germany with nothing but a computer entry.