Considering relocating to Malta

Hi

I was wondering if anyone could advise if there is work available in Malta in the ICT industry?

I can see from some searching on the Internet that the ICT industry is growing due to Smart City.

I have had 9 years experience working for a large IT company in the UK and qualified in IT Project Management and as a Microsoft Certified Technician.

My husband and I are considering of moving to Malta this year (September) and before we made the decision to do so wanted to try and find out the likelihood of actually finding work, I have contacted a few agencies and they seem to think I would not have a problem, but do the jobs really exist? Would they consider a job to an English native and a non Maltese speaker?

I am aware that the wages are somewhat lower than the UK which I understand fully as I have lived abroad before.

Any advise would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance

It is nice place here to move ... really you will enjoy it much :)

Hmmm - I'm not sure that Smart City is much more than a concept at the moment. I work in IT for a Web Services Company in Malta and so yes there are IT jobs but they are quite specific...for instance we recently tried to hire a Unix Sys Admin (Non-Maltese would have been just fine so long as English was good) and couldn't find anyone anywhere near qualified locally and ended up with our parent company recruiting someone to work through the night for us. On the other hand, if we need a Java programmer - no problem finding talented locals. Good luck to you - I'm not sure I can offer any advice. Check our Chad's (me3512 I think) postings on this forum, that may be enlightening.

Regards
Tim

Thank you Hassan for your positive input, helps us towards making the decision.

Thank you Tim, for the advise you gave and the luck you send, I have looked at Chads postings and can see he managed to get his idle job within 3 months and had offers with others. So thanks for that input.