Accommodation/Housing

Hello
I am looking for some advice on housing in Jubail as I start a new job there in Nov
I get an allowance from my company but I'm not sure weather to move into a compound or a private flat?
For the first 6 months I will be alone and then my wife and teenage son are planning to relocate from the uk.
I would love to hear some advice from people already leaving in Jubail and there experience/recommendations

Many Thanks Adam

Hello.
It is better for a western expat to live in compound becuse it's where they can live comfortably. Private housing is not good idea for western expat.

haya
I am new to ksa, houses and furniting is a significant problem, I am still looking for a campus but not sure where I can find agencies, not bothered about commuting as long as it is within 1 to 1.5 hour from my work.
thank you

Depending upon your budget

1- Murjan compound
2- Ventura compound
3- Saken compound
4- bajrai garden
5- Jude
6- Nesma
7- Reem

All of above have bachelor accommodation too, start with that and if you like it then strike a better deal.

I am sure there will be good compounds but I am also searching

Thank you very much

Hey AJC1978, welcome to Jubail!

Compounds are indeed a good option to consider but having been here for almost 5 years living in a non-compound residential proved it is not really required. The more important thing is to establish your social circle with the people you are comfortable with.

I got myself a place in Royal Commission area and travels around to meet my friends. Some weekends I will be in Bahrain or Dubai. So far it worked OK.

Thanks for your reply
How much is a 2bed property within the royal commission area roughly?

I've rented a fully furnished 1 bed, 2 halls, 2 baths for SAR 25k per year in 2014 - 2016. A friend got an unfurnished 2 beds, 2 halls, 2 baths for 35k per year in 2016.

I can text the contact for the real estate agent I've used in the past if you need it.

Yes please that would be great