Close

Poly Graduate's Unfruitful Job Search (S Pass)

I've lived in Singapore for almost 22 years (I'm 22) and have studied here since kindergarten.

I honestly thought I would have a slightly higher chance in my job search after getting my Diploma in Accountancy with Ngee Ann Polytechnic due to my history of living here for so long.

Sadly, my case is the extreme opposite. It's been 10 months into my job search with almost 500 job applications yet I've not landed a single interview.

In the first few months, I suspected it was my subpar results (I graduated 2.9 CGPA) so I removed that indicated in my resumé but I actually got less response than I initially did.

I do think it's my lack of experience hindering my job search as I only have had a 2 months internship as a Finance Assistant and nothing else. If you don't already know, students and LTVP holders aren't allowed to find jobs or even internships (other than through school) which puts us at a great disadvantage.

I did forget to mention that I am under a tuition grant bond so I do have to work 3 years here to fulfill it. I feel like my chances are sabotaged by the ministry's resistance on allowing people like me from doing any internships.

My LTVP is about to be renewed so I can continue trying but I honestly feel like it's hopeless. I just wanted to know if the bond would be somehow waived due to my unsuccessful job hunt or would I have to pay the liquidated damages ($50k!!!).

To anyone else experiencing the same thing I am, we stand in solidarity.

I am wondering why, after such a long time in Singapore, you are still only on LTVP?
It is expected that you apply for PR (or even citizenship) at some point, and that would solve all your problems. But as long as you show (in the eyes of the Singapore authorities) a lack of commitment to Singapore, it will not change.