Teaching opportunities for a non-native English speaker?

Hi everybody!

I'm preparing to apply for English-teaching jobs in either China or Vietnam. I've lived, studied, and worked in China for four years altogether and speak Chinese fairly well, so I'm confident I'd be able to land a decent teaching job there. I'd like to check out something new though, and Vietnam looks really interesting.

But how viable is it really for a non-native English speaker? I know I can probably get a business visa and take it from there but what difficulties if any am I gonna face in terms of getting a place to live, paying taxes, getting a decent salary and so on?

I have a BA degree in China studies, an IELTS score (very recent) of band 8.0 with 8.5 in speaking and listening, and an online myTEFL course certificate.

Also, I just turned 40. Is that something that could be a problem?

Any input much appreciated :D

Wow!  For the first time in a long time we have a non-native speaker inquiring here,  who appears to be fully qualified to teach English in Vietnam.  There are no glaring grammar errors in the post as there so often are, and an 8.5 in speaking is probably as good as most native speakers, and better than some.  (I had better check my own grammar.   :) )

In your case, I would avoid long distance applications where your fluency may not be evident.   Instead, come to Vietnam and start making face to face applications.

Good Luck.

Thanks for the kind words :)

Just so you know some major centers or school are biased against online Tefl cert.

QuidProQuo wrote:

Just so you know some major centers or school are biased against online Tefl cert.