How much to charge labour.......

Hi guys,

I am looking to setting up as a builder/carpenter/handyman here in Asker and was wondering if anyone has any experience on how much I should charge out for my labour per hour?

I was a self employed builder in the UK/East Africa for over 25 years, but looking at some of the labour rates being offered here by companies, is causing me a little pang. It is either similar or less than I would earn as a builder in the UK!

So, taking on some private work seems the best option. I always targeted top end work in the UK as I like to produce work to a high standard and would be looking to do the same here, if at all possible.

I am planning a little 'promo' drive locally and want to be competitive with my prices.

Anyone hired a handyman lately, and if so what did you pay him/her?? The spread I have seen so far is mind boggling, from 100 to 500 kroner per hour! Surely there must be a common average (in the UK it would, for example, vary from £140 to £175 as a ballpark figure. More in the South, less in the North.

Thanks to anyone who takes the time to drop me a quick note.....
Hilsen
Ian

Hi Ian :)

I hope you will get some helpful advices from other members soon ;)

Have a great day
Armand

Thanks Armand, me too!

I guess that most people employ a tradesman at some point, so I'm just looking for an idea on rates.
Cheers
Ian

Hey,

First of all it depends whether you do that officialy with invoices and VAT or not ... of course one should not do the latter.
1) so if you are paid cash without invoices, the average rate is between 120-150 NOK, depending of the skill of the person and the type of job
2) with invoice the range also varies a lot, 400 to  500 NOK seems to be the norm. including VAT of course.

This price range is for Oslo, should not be so much different in Asker ;)

Thanks ANDuM,

Seems about what I hear. It seems as if there is an 'official' unofficial 'black' market here. Even the guys at NAV talk about it!