Searching for a well paid job in Mauritius

Hi there,
I am thinking of moving back to Mauritius but very skeptic about it. I move to London when i was a teenager and did all my studies here in Law, I am a qualified company lawyer but currently work as a Ministerial Advisor, done for for the past 10 years. I have studied the job market in Mauritius- i really don't know much about it and it seems to me everything over there is who you know rather than experience and qualification. Can anyone give me tips how to get started and get a job at my level based meritocracy rather than just connections?? HELP :|

Hello Vijee

I think the first thing you should do is look around as to what kind of job you want?Consultant, advisor or anything pertaining to Law.

Also, I would advise you try to look into the private sector rather than the public one (for a start), and have a look at any job site for Mauritius and the local newspapers.

You may find a few barristers or solicitors in the Mauritian network. PM me if you need anything specific.

Hey,
thanks for the very quick reply. The tips are very helpful.
To be honest i did start looking like 6 months ago. I am not interested in working as a Barrister etc. I want to get into offshore because i think i have got an array of experience which will help me. I've got an LLM in international trade law & an LPC in Company Law and Civil Litigation but I am not really fuss if it is in the legal sector or not. I have experience in managing big budgets, managing big teams to deliver projects and am a bonafide project manager as well as a communication/PR expert so really am quite open in terms of what i can get into.