Speaking frankly about cost of living vs. my job offer?

Hello everyone,

I am starting to feel like I am doing a ton of the same sort of posts.:rolleyes: But please don't hold back, I am debating two other contracts besides this one (in Kuwait and Turkey, each at 2,500 a month.)

I am a first year teacher and have been offered a contract to work at an expat-mainly Kindergaten in Singapore. I would take the contract I am just not certain if it is a sound financial decsion.

The first year pay is 3,500 a month before tax and 4,000 the second year.

The company has asked me to arrive by the end of April, and in explaining to them that I am a new graduate and have not accumilated enough savings they have offered to pay for my flight and keep me in a hotel for two weeks until I have found housing.

The idea of taking an advance from my employer makes me feel a bit nervous...you thoughts?

I have several friends from Singapore and they believe that even trying to live modestly on 3,200 or so would be difficult. Housing seems to be the biggest issue as it is NOT included in the contract.

I live modestly but will have to pay about 450.00 USD towards my student loans and would like to save. Is this possible on the salary? I am not a very materialistic person but love to be social. My understanding is that these things come at a serious premium in Singapore too.

It seems to me because they want a person sooner than later that help with finding affordable secure housing perhaps should be built into the contract.

Your ideas? Thanks:)

From what it seems, is that you will be travelling into SGP alone. That helps coz you can manipulate where and how you stay, which in turn governs how much you might end up paying for a shared flat (full rented flats can start from S$ 1500/mnth upwards).

i had the same clause in my contract - 1 way (full family) airways taken care off with 2-3 weeks of paid hotel till i find a house.