Close

Visa and Residency for Hong Kong spouse of a British Citizen

Hay there everyone!  I have some questions regarding getting a visa and residence permit for my wife.  It seems like people in this forum give valuable advice so thats why I am here.  Hope you guys can help me...

Me...
Born in Hong Kong
US & British Passports
29 years old
Lived in USA 2001-2011
Lived in Hong Kong 2011-last week (Decided to study in Germany)

My wife...
Born in Hong Kong
Hong Kong Passports
33 years old
Lived in Hong Kong all her life (but she has a C2 level in German and worked in Germany for 6 months as being part of her University degree in European History maybe 10 years ago)

My question is basically how I can get my wife over here to Germany with me and she would also be working as I am studying full time.  Me doing part time won't earn enough money to support ourselves.  We do however have some savings that can last maybe a year or two without working though...

I did some basic research and know that she needs to get a family reunion visa through the German embassy in Hong Kong and then get a residence permit after she arrives in Germany.  But how the whole process goes and with all the documentations, I am not quite there yet i think...

1) To get her visa, I have to show that I can support her financially, but that is not possible as I am not working.  Will both our savings in our accounts in Hong Kong be enough to get lease get a visa for her?  We have around lets say €40.000 - €50.000.

2) I must also show that I have a place for her to stay.  But I am only living in a WG.  If I write my address on her application form, will the government actually check that it's a WG?  How strict are they with this part?  My Anmeldebestätigung just says "einzige Wohnung" and it doesn't say that its a WG. Does anyone konw if the embassy will ask for a rental agreement or something?