Considering a job in qatar, advice please - coding in qatar.

Hi,
There is a lot of bad press on the internet about expats working in qatar? I am confused because I was under the impression that you would be a valued worker? I am a Health Information Manager considering taking a position as a clinical coder in a hospital in Doha. I am not married hoping this won't be a problem. I am not into night life but don't want to be a prisoner. Accommodation will be included as is annual flights home and medical cover. I have read a lot of horror stories but wonder if anyone out there has actually done/doing the job I am considering and knows if it is going to be ok or not?
Thanks
Carolyn

HI cthemedusa
Qatar is nice place and Qatari people are very nice friendly. They usually value expat worker most of the times specially if they are US citizen. There is no night life in Doha but there is other activities you may enjoy and if you respect their culture; then you will definitely enjoy your life here. people come from all over the world to work and make good living. Almost every thing we used to see and hear on TV about Middle east is inaccurate. I'm from San Francisco and have been enjoying my time since I came here, and even planning to move my family here.

wish you good luck Carolyn

Hi Hasan,
Thanks for your advice, what job do you do over there?
Carolyn

Finance sector, .... u going to like it here ... there is no uncle sam  no fed tax, state tax, city tax, med tax, edu tax ss tax or even sales tax what a great country

HI,
I have been in the M/East for 5 years now and would not reccomend anybody come to work in Qatar.

You will be a slave (from a Western perspective) , as a woman you will be treated like dirt.

Saying that, if you can find a job where the majoroty of workers are expats, all good and well. BUT DONT WORK FOR AN ARAB!!