Thinking Ahead to teaching

Hello,
I'm currently making plans to come out to Vietnam in 2yrs time and take my TEFL course and live there if it's viable. I shall be 57 years young by then and I'm concerned that my age and the fact I have no degree will stop me realising my dream to help others? For my part I would embrace the culture and hopefully learn the language to add to my fluent German. Any thoughts would be much appreciated, especially positive ones haha.
Regards
Mark

Hi, this is Chris from Australia.
I'm currently doing a TEFL course.
I will be teaching English in ASIA hopefully 2018.
I'm 63yo and recently retired.
I have no previous teaching experience.
So join the club.
This is the 1st website that I'm involved with.
Do you know of any others.
Regards
Chris
Ps lets keep in touch

As a newbie, potential teacher in Vietnam, I find the answers to most inquiries to be several years old and, given inflation and the fact that Vietnam is changing rapidly, most replies are little help.
      Could anyone please recommend a more upto date website/forum with information on accomodation, cost of living, tax, work permits etc.
                Thanking you in advance. . . Pat

Pat,
I can't you any answers yet, however I'm currently completing my TEFL course, and intend to work in HCMC 2018. So keep in touch.
Regards Chris

Teacher Pat wrote:

As a newbie, potential teacher in Vietnam, I find the answers to most inquiries to be several years old and, given inflation and the fact that Vietnam is changing rapidly, most replies are little help.
      Could anyone please recommend a more upto date website/forum with information on accomodation, cost of living, tax, work permits etc.
                Thanking you in advance. . . Pat

Cost of living varies from place to place. If someone gives you info on work permits, it can become obsolete within a few months of writing. Maybe give some more info as to where you want to reside.

colinoscapee wrote: