Snakes and Other Poisonous Beasties

Hi

Just wondering about the potential dangers posed by little critters we are not used to up here in northern climes.

I've read that snakes like to keep their distance, but does anyone have any recommendations for a newbie about how to avoid an accidental encounter? Snakes are pretty smart, but I'm a complete novice and may accidentally blunder into their territory.

What about scorpions? or black widows? Is there anything a dumb foreigner might do to accidentally encourage them setting up house in my apartment? I've dealt with mice, so I know what NOT to do to encourage them, I assume there may be similar suggestions with regard to tropical houseguests.

Oh, and if in the event of an encounter, where would one go for treatment?

Thank you for any insights.

Watch where you step, especially in the bush. Most snakes will scoot away, but some of the ornery ones expect you to go around. Always check your shoes before you put them on, especially if they've been outside. Never just stick your hand in a bag without looking first. I pulled a scorpion out of a backpack once. Luckily I screamed and threw it across the room before it stung me. We had one house where several snakes showed up inside the house. As a result of that, I am really mindful about snake food in the house. There's no way to get around lizards, but once upon a time when I saw a small frog, I would ignore it. However, after having snakes in the house, snake food, like frogs, must be removed immediately.
Snake bite care is good here because it happens. Any medical center can care for it. Scorpions here are not life threatening. It is painful. Ask a neighbor about the variety of home remedies for the pain. I don't think there are black widows here. There are tarantulas, but they're super shy. I think you'd have to try to get bitten by one.

Hi,