Bansko as family destination all year round

Hi all

ChrisGer  here, I am a newbie on this site.

I am married with two girls and own a property in bansko.

We are looking into furnishing this property and spending time in Bansko as well as later seeing
more of the country.

In years to come with retirement, we are hoping to spend more long term time there.

At present, our main area of concern is furnishing as well as some slight building work as we are looking into reconfiguring the property internally.

The main concern for us is how family friendly and safe Bansko is and other areas around Bansko.  Also, the Alpha Spa in Dobrinishte, is it good for children and in easy reach of Bansko.

I have heard some negative things online about how the bulgarian people are cold and rude to foreigners,  I really hope this is not true especially as I have two children also.

I am quite willing to make an effort to speak the language as I am interested in languages and culture and I would like to expose the children to a new culture.

I have found at home that people in more rural areas can be particularly friendly in comparison to big city dwellers, I am hoping that this is the case for Bansko.

We have only visited Bulgaria once without children and did not have time to find out what the country was really like.  Why then did you purchase a property in the country I hear you ask ?
Well, my wife had bought the property before we got married many years ago as an investment, then the crash came and you know the rest.

As we now have two children, we have decided to look on the property as more of a lifestyle choice than an investment.  As we have not ventured abroad with the children yet, we are a bit nervous especially when we hear negative comments about the friendliness of the people.