Scoping out a new life in Mexico

Hola!  My name is Diana.  I am a professional fundraiser who is now working in the field part time.  I am also a jewelry designer and am increasingly focusing on marketing my work.  My son is finishing college and I am ready to leave the U.S. as the proverbial empty-nest-er.  I will be using Puerto Morelos as a home base for the week I am in the Yucatan -- end of October/beginning November 2017.  I am a native New Yorker (West Village), have lived/worked in Paris, and have limited travel in Guatemala (from where I adopted my son as an infant).  I do not yet speak Spanish, but I will be learning.  I will be traveling around Yucatan as much as I can for seven days, scoping out towns for relocation sometime in 2018.  This is quite an adventure for me, but given my love of the Maya people and their culture, arts, struggles, etc., I believe I am on the correct tract for my next iteration in life!  Right now I am looking at arriving in Mexico with early social security income only.  At this point I am thinking of renting a home, not buying.   I hope my jewelry and fundraising skills may help me boost my income -- if only "under the table."  I have been reading extensively about the Yucatan and while "book knowledge" is one thing, the real thing will be quite another.  I'd love to hear any thoughts about my upcoming journey as I do not have any contacts in Mexico and I will be looking to forge some with expats for my Oct/Nov trip and expected return visits in 2018 until I find the right place to settle.  Thanks and I look forward to hearing from you folks.  Regards, Diana

Hello Diana,

Yes Mexico is quite an adventure, a busy adventure.