Moving to PR

Hello!

Moving from Iowa to Puerto Rico this fall. My husband and I are beginning our search in the Dorado area, but I would love any other there recommendations for safe, fun and a sense of community. I speak polite Spanish and like to stay involved in social and community based projects. We are an active couple, love the ocean, snorkeling, scuba, golf, hiking etc. hoping to find a home in an area where I don't need to rely on a car, as I prefer to bike or walk.

I hold a masters in education but we are relocating for my husbands job. I don't have employment lined up, but hoping to utilize my skills in a school or instructor position.

We also have a dog (Scottish terrier) who we are trying to figure out the logistics of bringing him down.

Any suggestions of places to live would be most beneficial right now. We head down the first week in August to start our home search, but want to relocate by October one.

IowatoPR wrote:

Hello!

Moving from Iowa to Puerto Rico this fall. My husband and I are beginning our search in the Dorado area, but I would love any other there recommendations for safe, fun and a sense of community. I speak polite Spanish and like to stay involved in social and community based projects. We are an active couple, love the ocean, snorkeling, scuba, golf, hiking etc. hoping to find a home in an area where I don't need to rely on a car, as I prefer to bike or walk.

I hold a masters in education but we are relocating for my husbands job. I don't have employment lined up, but hoping to utilize my skills in a school or instructor position.

We also have a dog (Scottish terrier) who we are trying to figure out the logistics of bringing him down.

Any suggestions of places to live would be most beneficial right now. We head down the first week in August to start our home search, but want to relocate by October one.

Hello! :)

Is your husband's job in the San Juan area or can he work from anywhere?