Residence Permit in Norway

Hi!  Ive met a man who I really like, he is American and I am Norwegian. We would like to live together, preferably in Norway (but the US is also an option, depending on which is the easiest and fastest way for us to get to live together).

I am a student, but will be done pretty soon. He really wants to get a PHD if he were to come here (since they have one he is interested in where I live), but is it  easy to get a student visa in Norway for an American? Do Americans have to pay tuition to study in Norway? If we get married (which we want to eventually), will it make it easier for us to be able to live together in Norway? Or the US for that matter.

Its not important getting a permanent visa/citizenship just yet, whats important is that a) we will be able to live together and b) he can study and work here (part time)

Would it be easier for me to go live in America, or him to live here in Norway ?

Hi Kakefyll,

My friend who was Norwegian moved to be with his then fiancee, now wife in the US.  I am American and moved to Norway to be with my then fiance, now husband.  From our conversations with one another, it seems that I had a much easier process of relocation/overall time it took to process paperwork here in Norway.  My only warning for moving here is that all the Norwegian bureaucracy seemed to care about was that my "sponsor" - which was my fiance - had a steady income and made enough money.  I think things become much more complicated moving to Norway when the Norwegian "sponsor" is less established/doesn't have a job - which is absolutely not a knock on your current situation - believe me, I've been a poor student before! But if you were to get a job after graduation and perhaps have it for maybe a year or so to establish yourself, I think you might be in better standing.  Also you two would need to get married fairly quickly after he moved to Norway, because the fiance visa doesn't last very long before it expires.