Freelancer Visa Belgium

Hi
I am a Canadian citizen.  I would like to be able to live in Belgium.  I have noticed that Germany has a freelancer visa that lasts for one year.  I am a writer and have clients in Canada.  I can work remotely without a problem.  Does anyone know if Belgium has a freelancer visa, and if so, what are the steps in obtaining it?
Thanks in advance for any help!

Hi,

This type of visa does not exist. However, you can apply for a long stay visa. What really matters to the Belgian administration when issuing a visa is to be certain that you do not intend to take advantage of social benefits. Therefore, mount a serious "financial" file.

http://canada.diplomatie.belgium.be/en/ … lgium/visa

Visa for a long stay (residence): If you are planning to stay in Belgium for a period longer than 90 days you will need to ask the consulate or the Federal Foreign Office, you need a visa for A long stay or not. You must apply at the consulate or embassy in your country of residence and obtain this visa before your departure. No visa can be obtained or changed once in Belgium.

To apply for a long-stay visa, you must have a valid visa for at least 12 months and the following documents:

A certified birth certificate (that is, with an apostille) and a translation for each member of your family
Copies of marriage certificates (with an apostille) or divorce with translations, if applicable
A medical certificate from a licensed physician (the consulate or the embassy will give you a list)
The completed application form (s);
Passport photos (one to six or more, depending on circumstances);
A work permit (if you intend to work) or proof that your employer has applied for a work permit for you;
Proof of authorization to practice your trade in the country (if you are a self-employed person, a journalist or another regulated profession) or a professional card, which serves as a work permit for certain independent trades;